Board of Directors

OSBIE values the input and representation from our Regional Directors to ensure that we continue to meet the needs of our member boards.  The OSBIE Board meets approximately four times per year.  Each term as a director is for four years.  An employee or Trustee of a member board may serve on the OSBIE Board.  No “insurance” qualifications are necessary.  A strong belief in the benefits of a board-owned, non-profit joint venture and a desire to learn more about Finance and Insurance would be beneficial.  OSBIE needs the counsel of knowledgeable and committed individuals to assist the Exchange in meeting the changing needs of schools through a strategic perspective.  Members should also be willing to commit their time, open mindedness and innovative thinking to undergo the required training and to effectively serve on the OSBIE Board and its various committees.



For your reference, the Board developed an outline of the skillset, knowledge and responsibilities of a Board member.

Commitment to Governance

The Governance Committee continues to evolve the original Governance model to keep up with the expectations of a financial services organization. We are proud of the robust model developed which addresses key governance concepts such as Board Management Delegation, Governance Process and Executive Limitations. We are pleased to provide a copy of our Governance Policies for your perusal.

Our current Board of Directors

OSBIE would like to thank the following group of people for their time and commitment to the OSBIE Board of Directors:

Central Region Mid-North Region
Chris Arnew
Superintendent of Business & Treasurer
Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board
Cathy Modesto
Superintendent of Business & Finance
Le Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario
Chris Spina
Superintendent of Business
Huron Superior Catholic DSB
Western Region COR Region
Lynn Schaule
Manager of Health & Safety
Dufferin Peel Catholic District School Board

Jeff Pratt (Vice Chair)
Associate Director & Treasurer
Thames Valley District School Board

David Visser
Associate Director
Durham District School Board

Eastern Region North Western Region
Michael Carson
Superintendent of Business
Ottawa Carleton District School Board
Andrew Poirier
Manager of Operational Services
Kenora Catholic District School Board
Brian Coburn
Ottawa Catholic District School Board
Teresa Larson
Northwest Catholic District School Board
Northeast Region  
Marc Cantin (Vice Chair, OSBIE Audit Committee)
Superintendent of Business
Conseil scolaire de district catholique Franco-Nord
Pearl Fong-West (Chair of the OSBIE Board)
Superintendent of Business
District School Board Ontario North East